Buffalo Chicken Salad

 

My taste for Super Bowl-y goodness did not end when the Giants (depressingly) stomped the Patriots into the ground. As a matter of fact, I’ve been trying to figure out how to use up the leftover wing sauce I bought for my looked-really-awful-but-thankfully-tasted-really-good buffalo chicken tenders.That is, good if you wanted to literally light your ass on fire.

A few weeks ago on my cheat day (more on cheat days in my next post!), I was craving wings. Big, fat, sauce-soaked drumsticks. And nothing else would do. Since we were in the area, I dragged BF to Pluckers before I turned into a wing-crazed madwoman.

We ordered a few different flavors, but I remember we thought the hot was really good, the perfect amount of spice and flavor. So when I decided to make little mini buffalo chicken bites for the Super Bowl, I trotted on back and bought a bottle of their sauce.

I don’t know what happened between the two times I had this sauce, but when I made those mini chicken bites, they were BRUTAL. Noses were running. Tears were shed. Prayers sent up. Milk demolished. It was insanity. I ate one, cried a little, then about 20 minutes later when the deathfire subsided, I went back for more. Repeat misery.

For some reason, maybe self-torture, I kept the rest of this stuff. I was convinced I would somehow use it in a way that made the food at least halfway edible. I’d eaten it once, I could do it again. And thankfully, all it took was a pile full of lettuce, veggies and a heaping helping of Skinny Girl Ranch. Buyers remorse, be gone!

You can use whatever store-bought hot sauce you like, or make your own with Frank’s Red Hot (they recommend using butter, but I’m sure you could get around that somehow). The nutritionals I calculated for my version used the sauce I bought, so yours might be slightly different. This is definitely a meal salad, it’s really hearty, packed with a bunch of veggies and a wallop of flavor. BF and I were both stuffed by the end of it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Buffalo Chicken Salad

Serves 2

(2) 6-oz boneless, skinless chicken breast

2 tbsp wing sauce

1 romaine lettuce heart

3/4-1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

2 carrots, grated (or about a heaping 1/2 c. shredded carrots)

2 stalks celery

about 1/2 oz blue cheese crumbles (optional, if you like the mixture of Ranch and Blue Cheese together, some don’t)

1/4 c. Skinny Girl Ranch

 

Preheat the broiler. Season the chicken breasts with salt and pepper, and broil 10 minutes per side. Set aside to cool for about 5 minutes while you prepare the rest of the salad.

Chop up the lettuce (I normally just run through it crosswise with a knife), dice the celery, halve the tomatoes and grate the carrots. Add all the ingredients to the bowl, and add blue cheese crumbles if desired.

Once the chicken has cooled, dice into about 1/2 inch squares and toss in a bowl with wing sauce. Add chicken to salad, top with Ranch and toss with tongs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nutritional Facts

1/2 recipe

Calories: 334

Fat: 10.2g

Sat Fat: 4.5g

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Buffalo Chicken Salad

  1. Wow, I’ve gotta try me that recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

