Spinach, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Omelet

The omelet is my nemesis.

I tried every omelet method under the sun, and it always ended up a half-runny, sad looking lump of ingredients. Still tasted good, but it certainly wasn’t pretty. As a matter of fact, it usually turns out something like this:

Whomp, whomp whommmmp.

I figured there had to be a better way. So I Googled and YouTubed until I found a method that finally made the light bulb go off in my head. Use the broiler.

Using the broiler to cook the top of the omelet eliminates the need to actually flip the thing, which is where all my problems begin. I have no finesse with the flip. And the worst part is, I always get about halfway there and then it tears, or breaks, or I burn myself and accidentally knock the pan on the floor. Omelets are evil.

But, the broiler method is foolproof. And if I can do it, you can do it.

Of course, you can use this method and fill it with anything you want. But this was my particular creation this lovely Saturday morning.

Spinach, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Omelet

Serves 1

2 egg whites

1 whole egg

1-2 tbsp skim milk

Kosher salt and pepper, to taste

1/4 c. frozen spinach, thawed and drained

1/4 c. chopped mushrooms

1/4 c. red onion

1/2 oz. goat cheese (about 1/2 inch slice)

Cooking spray

Preheat broiler to high.

Place eggs in a bowl, add milk and season with salt and pepper. Now whisk as if your life depends on it. Scratch that – whisk as if Gerard Butler’s life depends on it. (Can you really imagine a world without King Leonidus? I can’t.) Basically, you need to whisk a bunch of air into the eggs to keep them light and fluffy as they cook.

Spray a small non-stick skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium/medium low heat. I put my stove on at about a 4. Pour egg mixture into pan, and cook until the edges are firm and the top of the eggs start to bubble slightly. The top will still be runny.

Add the spinach, mushrooms, onion and goat cheese evenly on the top of the eggs.

Place the skillet under the broiler for about 2 minutes until the top of the eggs firm up and goat cheese melts slightly. Remove from broiler, loosen edges with a spatula and transfer to a plate.

Nutrition Facts

1 omelet

Calories: 185

Fat: 8g

Sat Fat: 3.5g

Carbs: 8g

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment